Date & Place

24 and 25 of April 2012 Aegean Melathron Hotel, Chalkidiki, Thessaloniki, Greece

Travel and Accommodation

The Aegean Melathron Hotel is located on the eastern coast of Cassandra, Chalkidiki's first peninsula, about 90 km from Thessaloniki's airport.

Hotel Website: www.aegeanstar.com

All hotel accommodations will be arranged by the Symposium Secretariat.

The Workshop Organizers are planning a bus transportation service for all participants and accompanying persons.

Shuttle buses will depart from Macedonia Airport of Thessaloniki to Aegean Melathron Hotel.

Alternatively, the participants can reach the hotel by taxi from Thessaloniki or via privately rented car.

Thessaloniki Taxis:

Lefkos Pyrgos: 2310-214900 Macedonia: 2310-550000



Registration

Registration fee: 160 € per participant

The registration fee includes transportation, conference reception, conference dinner, two lunches, coffee breaks, and conference proceedings.

For additional information please contact:

Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH)

P.O. Box 472, 54124, Thessaloniki, Greece

Phone: +30 2310 996212 Fax: +30 2310 996198

e-mail: nano4water@certh.gr



nano4water

 2nd Dissemination Workshop of the Nano4water Cluster:
Recent Advances in Nanotechnology-based Water Purification Methods



24-25 April 2012 Thessaloniki, Greece







Scope

The workshop aims to bring together researchers, developers and policy makers, to share new innovations in nanotechnology-based water purification methods, identify issues and priorities, foster greater collaboration among scientists and developers, strengthen communication and propose recommendations to improve water purification and management policies.

Topics

Nanotechnology, the science and engineering of manipulating matter at the nanoscale (1-100 nm), offers the potential of synthesis of novel nanomaterials for treatment of surface water. groundwater, and waste water contaminated by toxic metal ions, organic and inorganic solutes, and microorganisms. In this workshop, current research advances in nanomaterials (i.e., nanostructured membranes, nanosorbents. nanocatalysts. materials, molecularly imprinted biomimetic membranes and bioactive nanoparticles) for water purification and disinfection will be addressed. In particular, the workshop will cover the following topics:

- Nanostructured Membranes for Advanced Water Purification
- Nano-Catalysts for Water Purification
- Molecularly Imprinted Materials for Organic Molecules
- Bioactive Nanoparticles as Alternative Disinfectants
- Nanosorbents as Separation Media in Water Purification
- Biomimetic Membranes for Water Treatment
- Membrane bioreactor (MBR) technology

Paper Submission

General paper presentations describing the key objectives of various EC-funded projects on water purification methods are welcome. Moreover, research papers addressing the specific topics of the workshop can also be submitted for oral or poster presentation.

All participants are invited to submit abstracts related to one of the main workshop topics with an emphasis on the Workshop Theme: "Recent Advances in Nanotechnology-based Water Purification Methods".

The papers should be submitted electronically in WORD format to the conference secretariat in accordance to the following instructions (see also the attached template):

- The title, authors and affiliations should be centered in bold print at the top of the first page.
- The printed abstract should fit just inside a 16cm x 26cm rectangle.
- The length of all the submitted papers should not exceed 6 pages.
- Please use 10 point Times New Roman fonts.

Selected Workshop research papers will be submitted for review and subsequent publication in a Special Issue of "Desalination and Water Treatment".

Deadlines for Paper Submission

February 15, 2012: Title, affiliation & one

page abstract

March 15, 2012: Submission of full papers

Programme Committee

Costas Kiparissides (CERTH, GR)

Stefan Vandendriessche (European Commission DG Research)

Eleftheriou Eleftherios (European Commission DG Research)

Lula Rosso (European Commission DG Research)

Cristina Gabellieri (European Commission DG Research)

Hans G. Enggrob (DHI / DK) - MEMBAQ

Inge Genné (VITO / BE) - Nametech

Thomas Melin (RWTH Aachen University / DE) - New ED

Enrique García-Bordejé (CS/C / ES) - MONACAT

Polycarpos Falaras (NCSRD / GR) - Clean Water

Gerald Heinicke - NATIOMEM

Mirko Faccini - Cerampol

Ing. Marcus Weyd - CeraWater

John Wong - LbLbrane

Sabine Paulussen (VITO) - NANOPUR

Aji P Mathew - NanoSelect

Volker Ribitsch (Univ. Graz) - SURFUNCELL

Werner Brenner (TU Vienna) - MultiPlat

Jan Hoinkis – BioNexGen